An-Nisa · Juz 5 · Qur'an Tafseer

The Background of Revelation of Surah an-Nisa Ayah 69

This ayah was revealed in the background of a special event which has been reported by the great commentator, Ibn Katheer as based on several sound authorities.

It so happened, narrates Aisha radhiAllahu anha that a Companion came to the Prophet sallAllahu aalyhi wa sallam one day and said:

Ya Rasoolullah, I hold you dear, dearer than my own life, even more than my wife and more than my children. There are times when I do not seem to be at peace with myself even in my house until I come to you and have the pleasure of looking at you. That finally gives me the peace I missed.

Now, I am worried about the time when you will leave this mortal world and I too will be taken away by death.

In that case, what I know for sure is that you will be in Paradise with the blessed prophets housed in its most exalted stations. As for myself, first of all, I just do not know whether or not I shall be able to reach Paradise. Even if I do reach there, the level where I shall be will be way below from where you are. If I am unable to visit you and have the pleasure of seeing you there, how am I going to put this impatient heart of mine at rest?”

The Prophet sallAllahu aalyhi wa sallam quietly heard what he said, but made no response, until came the revelation of ayah 69,

وَمَن يُطِعِ اللَّهَ وَالرَّسُولَ فَأُوْلَـئِكَ مَعَ الَّذِينَ أَنْعَمَ اللَّهُ عَلَيْهِم مِّنَ النَّبِيِّينَ وَالصِّدِّيقِينَ وَالشُّهَدَآءِ وَالصَّـلِحِينَ وَحَسُنَ أُولَـئِكَ رَفِيقاً

It was only then that the Prophet sallAllahu aalyhi wa sallam gave him the glad tidings that the obedient ones shall have occasions to meet with the prophets, the Siddiqeen, the Shuhada and the righteous. In other words, despite the relative precedence of ranks in Paradise, there will be occasions of meeting and sitting together.

[Taken from Maaruf-ul-Qur’an by Mufti Muhammad Shafi Usmani]

Leave a Reply

